Skip to content

People are a Resource.

November 14, 2010

It’s a basic question of supply and demand. When the supply is high – lots of people – you can pick and choose your friends. But if the supply is low – not many people around – you have to make do with what’s available.

In the city, it’s easy to surround yourself with like-minded individuals to the exclusion of all others. It’s a natural tendency; why wouldn’t you gather with folk you relate with? After all, with so many people, you have to choose somehow.

Then why not your neighbors?

I’ll admit readily that I have my defenses up in the city. There’s too much demanded of my attention between the people and the advertising and simply navigating the cityscape; I can’t be open to everyone or I’d lose myself completely.

One time I went back to Maui after a couple years on the mainland, and I ran into this old man with a gray beard I’d met some time earlier and had a neat connection with. This time, though, when he asked for a couple of dollars I chided him, saying ‘already asking for money?’ He was shocked by my abruptness and how closed off I was. I guess I mentioned that I’d been living on the mainland, because he relaxed and said, ‘oh, you’ve been in the city. that’s why you’re closed off. you haven’t been back long enough yet.’

Folk help each other more outside of the city. It doesn’t matter which party you belong to. Just being there is enough.

It’s said that over 50% of Americans in the witness protection program reside on the big island. Whether this is true or not, I’ll tell you one thing: the folk who are there, the folk who’ve stayed, have a damn good reason for it.

I”m not going to end this rant by suggesting you reach out and meet your neighbors, befriend your local Republican (or Democrat, whatever), and barbecue with the unemployed guy by the freeway. I’m not going to tell you how much of a difference you can make by volunteering in the community or simply by lending a helping hand once in a while to a person in need. Either you’re the kind of person who does these things anyway, or you’re not.

Chances are, you are, though, if you’ve read this far. So allow me my soapbox for a moment and I’ll say it outright: People are a Resource! Don’t take them for granted. Find out how your parents met. Ask your grandparents to tell you stories. Look for things you have in common instead of differences. Don’t be afraid to borrow an egg. And – oh yeah – you’re a resource too.

From → Rants

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

